Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Thursday, April 21, 2011

After Lanka U-turn Malinga to stay

With 11 wickets at 10 runs apiece, Lasith Malinga has been the key player for Mumbai Indians in IPL IV so far. And that’s the reason the Mumbai franchise spent a better part of the day pensively waiting to see whether Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) reverses their decision to recall pacer Malinga. The fingers in the MI camp were uncrossed late on Thursday night, as Malinga got the all-clear to stay back in India for the entire duration of the IPL.

Earlier in the day, SLC had also ensured that the glitzy IPL doesn’t lose a major chunk of its sheen by allowing seven of their other players — two of whom are captaining their respective franchises — to continue playing in the IPL till May 18, 10 days prior to the final.

Following a meeting with sports minister, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, the board also announced that the seven, who are part of Sri Lanka’s Test squad for the England tour — Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Tillakaratane Dilshan, Dilhara Fernando, Suraj Randiv, Nuwan Pradeep and Thissara Perera — will then fly directly from Mumbai to London a day before their second tour-game against England Lions at Cardiff.

The Sri Lankan selectors, led by chairman Duleep Mendis, had earlier in the week demanded that their England-bound players return home on May 5 for a preparatory camp prior to leaving for the three-match series. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), however, had then approached their Sri Lankan counterparts and asked them to reconsider the selectors’ decision.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment