Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Friday, April 22, 2011


After negotiations with India's cricket board, Sri Lanka has changed their decision of calling back their cricketers earlier from the continuing Indian Premier League (IPL).

Earlier this month, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) had asked their players to return back home by May five, 2011.

BCCI sent a request to SLC for extending the stay of their players in India for IPL, but they did not get any positive response.

On the other hand, the vice-president of Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) & franchises revealed that SLC had promised to permit their players to stay in the IPL till May 21, 2011.

SLC secretary, Nishantha Ranatunga, said that after discussions with the Board of Control for Cricket in India, both the bodies have reached a consensus that Sri Lankan cricketing authorities would not call back their players if the cricketers manage to participate in the second warm-up match on May 19, because that preparation will be for the tour of England.

The tour includes Tests, Twenty20 & One-Day Internationals (ODIs). The first match of the tour will be played on May 14, while the first Check match is scheduled to be started on May 26.

Sri Lanka's sports Minister, Mahindananda Aluthgamage, earlier had said that in the future, players will only be allowed to play foreign leagues such as IPL, if it would not affect the national team.

The star players playing in the IPL are, Kumar Sangakkara, Lasith Malinga, Mahela Jayawardene, &, Tillakratne Dilshan.

Sangakkara has recently stepped down from the captaincy of Sri Lanka, following their exit in the final of the International Cricket Council (ICC) World Cup 2011, at the hands of India.

Following Sangakkara's decision, Jayawardene & selectors including Aravinda de Silva also stood down from their posts. Dilshan is now appointed, as a new captain, who will lead his team in the upcoming series.

However, his excuse raised controversies & the cricket officials of his country are expected to call him back for a rehabilitation programme.

Pacer, Malinga, who has given a significant performance in the recently concluded mega-event, has refused to play in the three-match series, mentioning an injury.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment