Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) make it 3 wins in a row

The only franchisee not to have made the semifinals in the first three editions of IPL, KKR galloped to pole position in the 10-team standings with their third straight win on Sunday evening. If it was their batters who stole the show in Round 1 of their duel with Rajasthan Royals two days ago in Jaipur, the bowlers and fielders conjured a magical jugalbandi to blow away Shane Warne's team by eight wickets at the Eden in front of a 50,000-plus holiday crowd. 

Lakshmipathy Balaji led the charge with the ball, relishing the low and sluggish pitch to torment the opposition with his accurate leg-cutters after Gautam Gambhir opted to field first for the second game running. One such beauty cleaned up the dangerous Shane Watson before the in-form Aussie could bare his claws. 

That early wicket set the tone nicely for KKR, but even they would have been surprised to see the Royals fold up for 81 (the lowest total in IPL 4) in 15.2 overs. Balaji, in his first season for KKR after being 'bought over' from Chennai Super Kings, returned remarkable figures of three for 15 in 3 overs, while Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan took two off two balls. Brett Lee did his job as well, so did Iqbal Abdulla who picked up a wicket besides running out Faiz Fazal. 

The Knights, handed the luxury of chasing four runs an over, saw a rare first-over dismissal of the prolific and accomplished Jacques Kallis. That, too, off a short ball with the South African opener shaping for a pull off Shaun Tait only to check his shot and top-edge a high catch. 

But so meagre was the target, Gambhir and Manvinder Bisla could afford to take their time in the face of some fiery stuff from Tait, who steamed in with four slips and a gully in his opening spell in an obvious effort to rip off the KKR top-order. Bisla succumbed to Warne, but Gambhir (35 not out off 35 balls, 3x4), who is truly looking like a man on a mission, and local boy Manoj Tiwary (30 not out off 26 balls, 4x4, 1x6) stepped on the pedal and raced past the target with 6.1 overs to spare. 

Tiwary, especially, turned on the style in the end with a sequence of 6, 4 and 4 off Tait's final over to the delight of the huge audience.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment