Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Monday, May 30, 2011

Dennis Lille's keeper, and losing from 500

Is it true that only one wicketkeeper other than Rodney Marsh assisted Dennis Lillee in a Test dismissal? asked Bob Langford from AustraliaThe answer is yes - the only other wicketkeeper to take a catch off Lillee in a Test was Tasmania's Roger Woolley, in a match against Sri Lanka in Kandy in April 1983. He caught Sidath Wettimuny in the first innings and the other opener, Susil Fernando, in the second. Marsh took 95 catches off Lillee - still the record for a fielder-bowler combination in Tests - but he was unavailable for that short tour, although he hadn't quite retired.

Woolley, a fine keeper who was unfortunate that his career coincided with Marsh's, won one further Test cap, in the West Indies early in 1984. He was the first Tasmania player to represent Australia in a Test since Laurie Nash in 1931-32.

Which team was once 353 for 1 at the end of the opening day of a first-class match, yet lost by an innings? asked Michael Jones via Facebook I was intrigued by this question, and had just found the answer when it was posted by another avid Facebook user, Pete Church from Australia. The game in question was an English County Championship match in Northampton in 1995, when Nottinghamshire were riding high at 353 for 1 at the end of the first day.

Tim Robinson (who went on to make 209) and Graeme Archer (158) had put on nearly 300. Nottinghamshire reached 527 next day - but Northamptonshire replied with 781 for 7, including four individual centuries, before declaring. Probably rather surprised to find themselves 254 behind, Notts were bowled out on the fourth and final day for 157 (Anil Kumble had the fine figures of 39.1-21-43-5) and lost by an innings and 97. Nottinghamshire's 527 remains the highest total in first-class history by a team who ended up losing by an innings. Wisden reported that "Northamptonshire's victory, achieved with 17 balls to spare, went beyond the merely extraordinary into the realms of the apparently impossible."

I assume that Murali has the most wickets in England-Sri Lanka Tests. But who's next? asked Jonathan Dwyer from Surrey

Muttiah Muralitharan does indeed lead the way in England-Sri Lanka Tests, with 112 wickets in only 16 matches at the splendid average of 20.06. That included four ten-wicket hauls, foremost among them his 16 for 220 at The Oval in 1998. Murali actually has more than twice as many wickets as anyone else: next comes his long-time confederate Chaminda Vaas, who took 49 wickets against England at 31.36 apiece. In third place is the leading Englishman, Matthew Hoggard, with 37 at 29.86.

Taufeeq Umar scored a Test century against West Indies almost eight years after his last one. Is this a record gap? asked Mahela Silva from Sri Lanka

Taufeeq Umar, whose previous Test century to last week's 135 against West Indies in St Kitts was 111 against South Africa in Lahore in October 2003, is quite high on this particular list - but not quite at the top. The longest gap between Test centuries is just short of 14 years, by the Australian Warren Bardsley: after his 164 against South Africa at Lord's in July 1912, his next Test century did not come until June 1926, when he carried his bat for 193 against England, again at Lord's. That gap included the First World War, and the longest between Test centuries when no war was involved is almost 10 years, by another Australian, Bob Simpson. He made 109 against India in Melbourne on New Year's Day, 1968, shortly before his original retirement from Test cricket. But he made a surprise return 10 seasons later to lead an Australian side ravaged by defections to World Series Cricket, and - playing India again - made 176 in his second Test back, in Perth in December 1977.

Has anyone ever finished on the winning side in 100 Test matches? And who's the record-holder for ODIs? asked Keith Clarke from London

No one has won 100 Test matches… yet. Top of the list is Ricky Ponting, who has so far finished on the winning side on 99 occasions. Next come Shane Warne (92), Steve Waugh (86), Glenn McGrath (84), Adam Gilchrist (73), Mark Waugh (72), Matthew Hayden (71), Justin Langer (70) and - the first non-Australian - Mark Boucher (70). Ponting also leads the way in one-day internationals, having finished on the winning side on 254 occasions so far. Next come Sanath Jayasuriya (233), Sachin Tendulkar (230), Inzamam-ul-Haq (215), Adam Gilchrist and Muttiah Muralitharan (202) and Jacques Kallis (201). The current leader in Twenty20 internationals is Shahid Afridi, with 26, one ahead of his team-mate Kamran Akmal.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment