Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Tuesday, May 31, 2011

Durrani, Tendulkar receive awards

Sachin Tendulkar picked up the Polly Umrigar award (outstanding Indian cricketer) for the second time and thanked his teammates for making it possible.

Former India all-rounder Salim Durrani, nominated for the C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award, expressed his joy at India's World Cup wins under Kapil Dev and M.S. Dhoni. He was speaking at the BCCI awards ceremony for 2009-2010, held against the backdrop of India's amazing WC 2011 victory which sparked nationwide celebrations.

Dhoni and his mates from the WC squad were called on stage to receive their incentives. Kapil was among the cricket achievers in the audience, among whom were former India captains and a few 1983 squad members.

“We thank the people for their support, not only all over India, but all over the world. The win would not have been possible without support from teammates, without the system from u-16 onwards through which all of us have passed,” said Dhoni.


Tendulkar, recipient of the Polly Umrigar Trophy in 2006-2007 and again this time, said: “Winning back this trophy happened due to my fellow members of the Indian squad. The World Cup win was made possible due to their efforts under the able leadership of M.S. Dhoni and help from the support staff.”

Durrani congratulated Team India and wished the new team headed for the West Indies does well. He received a trophy and cheque for Rs. 15 lakh from BCCI president Shashank Manohar.

Tendulkar received a trophy and cheque for Rs 5 lakh from Mr. Manohar and BCCI secretary N. Srinivasan.

Dhoni and squad got Rs 2 crore each, while the support staff, starting with coach Gary Kirsten up to the yoga trainer, were presented Rs 50 lakh each.

Award winners (2009-2010): Salim Durrani – C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement award; Sachin Tendulkar - Polly Umrigar award; Manish Pandey (KSCA) - Madhavrao Scindia award for highest Ranji scorer; Abhimanyu Mithun (KSCA) - Madhavrao Scindia award for highest Ranji wicket-taker.

B. Aparajith (TNCA) - M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-16 player; Bhargav Merai (GCA) - M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-19 player; Nataraj Behera (OCA) - M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best u-22 player.

M.D. Thirushkamini (TNCA) - M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best woman player; Reva Arora (PCA) - M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for best junior woman player.

K. Hariharan - Best umpire in domestic cricket.

Maharashtra Cricket Association - Best overall performance in 2009-2010.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment