Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Monday, May 30, 2011

No T20 cricket Champions League guarantee

New Zealand's champion Twenty20 team is no longer guaranteed a spot at the rich Champions League, potentially costing each major association thousands of dollars in guaranteed revenue.

Auckland Cricket Association chief executive Andrew Eade said a four-team qualifying tournament in Sri Lanka in mid-September was all but confirmed. IPL chief executive Sundar Raman spilt the beans in a recent Twitter posting.

That would involve the New Zealand champions [Auckland], along with the top Sri Lankan and West Indies sides, and the fourth-placed Indian Premier League team [the Kolkata Knight Riders]. The top two sides would qualify for the main 10-team tournament, scheduled to start on September 23 in India.

"The rumours are getting stronger and stronger, we're just awaiting official confirmation that it's actually going to happen," Eade said yesterday.

"Obviously we're disappointed. The opportunity for us to play in the full tournament is a fantastic one, but if we have to qualify then so be it. If we are at full strength we have got a pretty formidable side."

Eade understood the shift was to try and involve a fourth IPL team to broaden the tournament's appeal to the Indian audience. New Zealand's T20 champions contested the first two Champions League tournaments but didn't win a match.

Otago lost both their matches in 2009 and Central Districts were winless from four group matches in South Africa last year.

Still, it was lucrative for NZ Cricket, with the five non-participating major associations each banking around $65,000 last year from their agreed share of the participation fee. Central received double that figure under the agreement.

Eade was confident a participation fee would still be paid for the qualifying tournament but prizemoney, which was guaranteed for every team in the main tournament, might not be.

"There's no way a New Zealand side could afford to go over there if it had to pay its own way, and I'm absolutely certain that [participation fee] will still happen. They won't pull the rug totally out there. Obviously the prizemoney is less likely."

Players' Association boss Heath Mills told the Sunday Star-Times that Central's players were awaiting their share of up to $250,000 from last year's tournament.

Eade expected the ACA would receive about $10,000 in their agreed cut of the prizemoney, which was being held up by Indian

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment