Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Monday, May 9, 2011

York II go clear at top of Senior Cricket League

YORK II moved clear at the top of the Hunters York & District Senior Cricket League premier division after a comfortable win over Beverley.

The two sides went into the game boasting 100 per cent starts to the campaign, but it was the reigning division one champions that prevailed at Clifton Park.

Jamie Mitchell was the visitors’ top scorer with 46 but it was teenage spinner Andrew Simpson who caught the eye with 6-39 as Beverley succumbed to 164 all out in 42 overs.

York were then set firmly on a victory course by openers Simon Lambert (48) and Dave Simpson (75), who posted an opening stand of 122 as York moved to a six- wicket win in 33 overs.

Spin bowling was the order of the day at Clifton Alliance, where the home side gained a four-wicket victory at the expense of Sessay.

Mark Wilkie made 40 for the Hambleton side, but Alex Renton took 5-22 in 14 overs and Jake Caooa claimed 4-29 to close the innings on 120 in 38.5 overs.

Sessay skipper Steve Langstaff then hit back with 6-43 in 14 overs but his bowling colleagues all went without reward as Joel Hughes, with 30, saw Clifton home at 121-6.

Having hit his maiden century seven days earlier for Dunnington seconds, Johnny Andrew was promoted to his club’s first XI for their trip to Heworth and he top-scored with 81.

Jack Bolam added 48 and Dave Johnson weighed in with 64 as the reigning champions rattled along to 268 all out.

Mark Bell took 3-71 for Heworth but his batsmen then struggled as fellow spinner Adam Iyer wheedled out seven home batsmen for only 24 runs.

However, Ian Lynch proved to be a lynchpin in making 43 to help the homesters gain a draw at 142-8.

Stamford Bridge are riding high in second place after recording a six-wicket win at Studley Royal in a game cut by ten overs a side by the season’s first rain.

Gary Blackburn fared well for Studley in making 58 while Rob Nicholson contributed 33 to Royal’s total of 151-7.

Neil Fairweather (3-49) and Will Rhodes (3-36) were the pick of Stamford’s bowlers.

Rhodes then followed with 50, skipper Matt Beckett hit 31 and Dave Bradshaw made 37.

What may well have been viewed as the match-of-the-day proved to be a one-sided affair when Woodhouse Grange walloped Easingwold by nine wickets.

Steve Piercy hit 65 at the top of the Easingwold order and Jon Marwood made 25. But Steve Burdett’s 3-28, abetted by a 4-26 return from Nick Hadfield, had the visitors all out for 164.

Hadfield then took command with the bat in making 92 not out. Chris Bilton was unbeaten with 39 when Grange swept to their target for the loss of only one wicket.

For More Detail Visit @

No comments:

Post a Comment