Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Wednesday, June 8, 2011

Celebrity Cricket League matches telecast on Four channels

Cricket fever's long tail continues as a new team contest kicks off with matches on three June in Bangalore.

The Celebrity Cricket League (CCL) has, for the first time, created a platform where film fraternities of the South & Bollywood will battle each other to be up on each other through cricket. The matches that will be played are unlike the plenty of cricket matches that have a combination of both cricketers as well as film actors; the CCL teams comprise male members from Mumbai, Tamil, Telugu & the Kannada filmdoms.

The teams are Mumbai Heroes with Salman Khan as captain, & Suneil Shetty as vice captian from Bollywood; Tamil Rhinos with Surya as captain & Abbas as vice captain from kollywood; Telugu Warriors with Venkatesh as captain & Vishnu as vice captain from Andhra Pradesh; & the Karnataka Bulldozers with Sudeep as captain & Dhruv as vice captain from Sandalwood.

The owners of the teams are: Mumbai Heroes Sohail Khan; Chennai Rhinos AMR Construction, GVR Infrastructure & the Prayusha Group with Bharati Cements as team sponsors.

Telugu Warriors  the Manjeera Group through Vishnu Manchu; Karnataka Bulldozers  AKK Entertainment Limited through Ashok Kheny, the managing director of the Nandi Infrastructure Corridor Enterprise Ltd (NICE);One of the ambassadors of the CCL is Shreya Sharan.

The opening ceremony in Bangalore will see about 1200 folk artists performing live with the main act by Sonu Niigaam along with the main leads of the Kannada film Prasad with Arjun Sarja & Madhuri Bhattacharya as hosts. Bhattacharya, along with Sandalwood actor Ambareesh, is the ambassador of the Karnataka team.

Informs CCL director Vishnu Induri, We have bought airtime for airing the matches live from Sahara nationally for Hindi & English broadcast, from Star's Vijay TV for Tamil broadcast, from Maa TV for the Telugu broadcast & from Star's Suvarna TV for Kannada broadcast. The IPR remains with us. Depending on future circumstances, they may sell broadcast rights to a channel.

For the next season, the organisers of CCL plan to add more teams to the tourney  from the Malayalam & the Bengali film industry.

The schedule of the three match tourney is:

June three in Bangalore 3pm: Chennai Rhinos vs Telugu Warriors & at 7pm: Karnataka Bulldozers vs Mumbai Heroes

June three in Chennai 1pm: Karnataka Bulldozers vs Chennai Rhinos: & at 5pm: Telugu Warriors vs Mumbai Heroes

June 11 in Vizag 3pm: Karnataka Bulldozers vs Telugu Warriors: & at 7pm: Chennai Rhinos vs Mumbai Heroes

June 12 in Hyderabad three pm: Finals.

Watch Live Cricket @

No comments:

Post a Comment