Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Cricket news from ESPN

Cricinfo Live Scores

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

No Pawar-play at Mumbai Cricket Association this time

The incumbent president has decided not to continue in the position after holding it for ten years.

Speculations over Sharad Pawar's participation in the Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) elections were laid to rest on Tuesday.

On Tuesday, Pawar addressed his panel at the MCA's club house in BKC and informed the members that it won't be feasible for him to contest. Pawar sahab won't be able to contest due to technical reasons, MCA treasurer Ratnakar Shetty told reporters after the meeting. Pawar was selected as MCA chief for the first time in 2001 and they done ten years in that position.

It was revealed that Pawar would not be eligible to contest. As per the MCA constitution, only a resident of the city can stand in the polls. Pawar, who had changed his permanent address to Baramati to contest in the Madha (Maharashtra) Lok Sabha constituency in 2009, forfeited his right to contest in the election.

He was supposed to contest the elections but the Clause 17 of the MCA constitution makes him ineligible. They had to change his address from Mumbai to Baramati in 2009. It will be a large loss for us, a Pawar supporter told DNA. The group, however, is yet to take a call on the replacement. It might settle on Wednesday.

Interestingly , Pawar came to the meeting by Vilasrao Deshmukh's automobile. Deshmukh, as has been widely reported, is an aspirant for the MCA president post.However, the Pawar panel selected not to comment whether it will be backing Deshmukh.

Former India skipper Dilip Vengsarkar is of the contestants for the post of president. The filing of nominations for the July 15 elections ends on July 8.

Watch Live Cricket @

No comments:

Post a Comment