Pepsi IPL 2015 Logo

The 2015 season of the Indian Premier League (abbreviated as IPL 8 or Pepsi IPL 2015) is the eighth season of the IPL. Kolkata Knight Riders are the defending champions having won the title in the 2014 season. The complete tournament is expected to be held across different cities in India unlike the previous season. The tournament was started on Wednesday, 8 April 2015 after the end of the 2015 Cricket World Cup. A total of 60 T20 matches will be held in the entire tournament. No matches will be held in Kolkata between April 12 and April 25 due to Municipal Elections.

Franchises retained 123 players 8th IPL season before moving into auction. The released players provided an option to register themselves for auction. 6 Players were transferred across teams before the auction took place. In the Pepsi IPL 2015 auction held on February 16 at Bangalore, Yuvraj Singh was sold to Delhi Daredevils for 16 crores INR, for a record bid in IPL auction history. A total of 67 players were sold out in the auction and all franchises spent total of 87.60 Crores to buy players.

Wednesday, September 7, 2011

Sri Lanka win toss as Marsh, Prasanna debut

* Marsh make Australia check debut, Prasanna for Sri Lanka
* Sri Lanka win toss, elect to bat

Left hand batsman Shaun Marsh will debut for Australia as the number batsman, while spinner Seekuge Prasanna will make debut for the home team as the are named the second check 11 between the teams in Kandy on Thursday.

Marsh, son for former Australian check player Geoff, will be a straight swap for former Australian captain Ricky Ponting, who has flown home for his second kid birth, while Prasanna will replace left-arm spinner Rangana Herath, who has an injured finger.

Geoff Marsh introduced his son with the baggy green.

"We would have desired to have a bat as well, wicket looks fantastic. Little bit emotional moment when Shaun got his Check cap. Lovely for Geoff to come all the way for that. All the boys were excited," Australia captain Michael Clarke said.

Prasanna in his one-day debut against Australia captured wickets for 32 runs.

Sri Lanka captain Tillakaratne Dilshan won the toss & chosen to bat first in the second check. Australia lead the three-match series 1-0.

Australia - Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson, Trent Copeland, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Phillip Hughes, Michael Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Shaun Marsh.
Sri Lanka - Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Tharanga Paranavitana, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Thilan Samaraweera, Prasanna Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Suraj Randiv, Suranga Lakmal, Chanaka Welagedara, Seekuge Prasanna.

No comments:

Post a Comment